student life header
Home / Student Life / Campus Life / Student Employment / Applications for House Intern/Orientation Staff Positions 2014
 

House Intern and Orientation Staff Positions

Applications for House Intern and Orientation Staff Positions 2014

Instructions for Applying:
To apply for a house intern or orientation staff position, you must fill out a separate application for each position on the hiring website.

Apply to be a house intern
Apply to be an orientation leader

Apply to be an orientation coordinator

All applications must be submitted by 11:59 p.m. on Wednesday, March 5, 2014. All reference forms must be submitted by 8:30 a.m. on Monday, March 10, 2014. Please note that your application will not be considered until you've clicked "Submit Your Application for Consideration" at the end of the application. Although the house intern and orientation staff hiring processes occur at the same time, interviews will happen and decisions will be made separately. Both positions may be offered to applicants who have applied for both jobs, but ultimately you may accept only one.

Complete Application Checklist:

  • Completed application including personal information, work history, and responses to essay questions.
  • One reference from a peer and two professional references.
  • One advisor reference.

All applications will be available online Wednesday, February 19, 2014, and must be submitted electronically by 11:59 p.m. on Wednesday, March 5, 2014. Incomplete or late applications may not be considered.

House Intern Information Sessions:

Friday, February 21

1 p.m. in Dakin Living Room

Monday, February 24

4 p.m. in the Cultural Center

Wednesday, February 26 1:30 p.m. in the Center for Feminisms

Orientation Staff Information Sessions:

Thursday, February 27 4 p.m. in Dakin Living Room
Friday, February 28 2:30 p.m. in Dakin Living Room


Selection Timeline:

Friday, March 21 through Thursday, March 27                     

Interview scheduling
Monday, March 31 through Tuesday, April 8 Orientation staff and house intern interviews
Friday, April 11 Decision letters sent to all candidates via email
Tuesday, April 15 All offers must be accepted or declined online by 4 p.m.


Interview Scheduling:

House intern interview process:
House intern applicants who have been selected for an interview will be contacted by Thursday, March 27 by 4:30 p.m. You will receive an email with instructions on how to self-schedule an individual interview and advise the selection coordinator on your availability for a group interview.

Orientation staff interview process:
Orientation staff applicants who have been selected for an interview will be contacted on Friday, March 21. You will receive an email with instructions on how to self-schedule your interview. You will be contacted soon after interview scheduling ends to let you know the location of your interview and the name of the person who will be interviewing you.

House Intern Dates Required:
In order to apply to be a house intern, you must be available to return to campus on Monday, August 18 for training.

Orientation Staff Dates Required:
In order to apply to be an orientation leader, you must be available for all of the following dates and times. Please be sure you can attend all training sessions; exceptions will only be made for class conflicts.

Monday, May 5 10:00 a.m.-4:30 p.m.: All-orientation staff training
Thursday, May 8 10:00 a.m.-4:30 p.m.: All-orientation staff training
Friday, August 22 ONLY for orientation coordinators
Saturday, August 23 through
Wednesday, August 27
All-orientation staff return (August 23) training
Thursday, August 28 through Monday, September 1 Orientation program


Communication Throughout the Process:

Staff will be in communication with you primarily through your Hampshire College specified email address. It is imperative that you check your email frequently and respond quickly.

Questions?
For house intern applicants:
Contact Nick Capell, Prescott House director, at 413.559.5085.

For orientation staff applicants:
Contact Jessica M. Ortiz, director of new student programs, at 413.559.6076.

For general application questions:
Contact Frances Arnold in the dean of students office, 413.559.5412.

 
 

© 2014 Hampshire College 893 West Street Amherst, MA 01002 . 413.549.4600