hampshire college campus 2019

News & Events

Presidential Search Update: July 3, 2019

More than 30 members of the Hampshire community will participate in confidential interviews of finalists for Hampshire President

The Presidential Search Committee has completed our primary round of interviews and decided which candidates to invite to the final round of interviews next week. We are excited by the qualifications of our finalists. We also finalized the group of 15 on-campus community members (5 faculty, 5 staff, 5 students) and 2 alums who will take part in the final interview process as the community interview panel.

The Search Committee formed the panel by inviting community members to self-nominate, then we selected participants representing a broad range of campus roles and diverse perspectives. We also asked the Alumni Advisory Group to appoint two of their members. We’ve required everyone participating in the interviews to:

•  Maintain absolute confidentiality, now and for the future, regarding the candidates’ identities and any information learned about them as part of the interview process. (Revealing this information could have adverse consequences for the candidates at their current positions.)

•  Commit to being available in person for the duration of the interviews.

•  Center the best interests of Hampshire and its mission, and not a particular constituency or agenda, in conducting interviews and evaluating candidates.

•  Provide feedback to the Search Committee by completing an assessment sheet.

The community interview panelists are:

Deborah Goffe; HACU; Assistant Professor of Modern/Contemporary Dance
Alan Goodman; NS; Professor of Biological Anthropology
Salman Hameed; CS; Associate Professor of Integrative Science and Humanities
thúy lê; IA; Visiting Assistant Professor of Creative Writing, alum 90F
Joanna Morris; CS; Professor of Cognitive Science

Grace Adzima; Controller’s Office; Accounting Assistant
Karina Fernandez; Office for Diversity and Multicultural Inclusion; Assistant Dean of Diversity and Inclusion, Director of the James Baldwin Scholars Program, alum 03F
Linda Green; Academic Affairs; HACU School Administrator
Reeve Gustell; Farm Center; Food, Farm and Sustainability Program Coordinator
Rae Ann Wentworth-Cadieux; Information Technology; Associate Director of IT for User Support

Blue Kirkpatrick 18F
Matt Lavalee 16F
Amy Lowe 17F
Eliot O’Connell 18F
Elaine Robinson 17F

Representatives of Alumni Advisory Group
RJ Sakai 08F
Dan Sroka 85F

Hampshire’s senior leadership team will also participate in assessing the final candidates, as will Deans Natalie Sowell, Sue Darlington, Becky Miller, and Elizabeth Conlisk.

The Search Committee will then be charged with making a final recommendation to the Board of Trustees, which has the legal authority and responsibility to hire a President.

This has been a very fast yet rewarding process, and there is a lot of work to do yet, but we are thrilled to be approaching the final interview stage.

Hampshire 2019 Presidential Search Committee
Ellen Sturgis 77F, search chair and trustee
Luis Hernandez 70F, chair of the Board
Jose Fuentes 05F, trustee
Anthony Thomas 07F, trustee
Daya Mena 15F, student trustee 2017-19, new alum
Sarah Steely 02F, elected by staff
Christoph Cox (at Hampshire since 1998), elected by faculty
​Jenny Chandler, Chief of Staff, ex-officio member and staff support


Stay In Touch
With The Communications Office
Snail Mail
Office of Communications
Hampshire College
893 West Street
Amherst, MA 01002