Resident Advisor and Orientation Staff Positions | www.hampshire.edu

Resident Advisor and Orientation Staff Positions

Applications for Resident Advisor and Orientation Staff Positions 2017

Instructions for Applying:
To apply for a resident advisor or orientation staff position, you must fill out a separate application for each position on the hiring website. Applications will be available on Monday, February 13.

All applications must be submitted by 11:59 p.m. on Monday, February 27, 2017. All reference forms must be submitted by 8:30 a.m. on Monday, March 6, 2017. Please note that your application will not be considered until you've clicked "Submit Your Application for Consideration" at the end of the application. Although the resident advisor and orientation staff hiring processes occur at the same time, interviews will happen and decisions will be made separately. Both positions may be offered to applicants who have applied for both jobs, but ultimately you may accept only one.

Apply to be a resident advisor
Apply to be an orientation leader
Apply to be an orientation coordinator

Complete Application Checklist

  • Completed application including personal information, work history, and responses to essay questions.
  • One reference from a peer and two professional references.
  • One advisor reference.

All applications will be available online Monday, February 13, 2017, and must be submitted electronically by 11:59 p.m. on Monday, February 27, 2017. Incomplete or late applications may not be considered.

Resident Advisor Information Sessions

Thursday, February 16 10 a.m. in Greenwich/Enfield Area Office
Tuesday , February 21 1 p.m. in the Prescott Area Office
Friday, February 24 11 a.m. in the Dakin Living Room

 

Orientation Staff Information Sessions

Thursday, February 23 3:30 p.m. in Kern Center 202
Friday, February 24 1 p.m. in Kern Center 108

 

Selection Timeline

Friday, March 17 through Wednesday, March 22 Interview scheduling
Wednesday, March 29 Resident advisor group process
Monday, March 27 through Tuesday, April 4 Orientation staff and resident advisor interviews
Friday, April 7 Decision letters sent to all candidates via email
Tuesday, April 11 All offers must be accepted or declined online by 4 p.m.

Interview Scheduling

Resident Advisor interview process:
Resident advisor applicants who have been selected for an interview will be contacted by Monday, March 20 by 4:30 p.m. You will receive an email with instructions on how to self-schedule an individual interview and advise the selection coordinator on your availability for a group interview.

Orientation staff interview process:
Orientation staff applicants who have been selected for an interview will be contacted on Friday, March 17. You will receive an email with instructions on how to self-schedule your interview. You will be contacted soon after interview scheduling ends to let you know the location of your interview and the name of the person who will be interviewing you.

Resident Advisor Dates Required

In order to apply to be a resident advisor, you must be available to return to campus on Monday, August 21 for training.* Training is currently scheduled to begin on Monday, August 21. Resident advisors are also required to attend the New Hire Spring Training/Mixer, date and time TBD. Exceptions will only be made for course conflicts.

*Dates and times of arrival will be outlined in offer letter.

Orientation Staff Dates Required

In order to apply to be an orientation leader, you must be available for all of the following dates and times. Please be sure you can attend all training sessions; exceptions will only be made for course conflicts.

Monday, May 8 10:00 a.m.-4:30 p.m.: All-orientation staff training
Friday, August 25 and Saturday, August 26 ONLY for orientation coordinators
Sunday, August 27 through Wednesday, August 30 All-orientation staff return (August 27), training
Thursday, August 31 through Sunday, September 3 Orientation program

 

Communication Throughout the Process

Staff will be in communication with you primarily through your Hampshire College specified email address. It is imperative that you check your email frequently and respond quickly.

Questions?

For resident advisor applicants:
Contact Shawn Tremblay, Dakin area coordinator and coordinator of student life, at 413.559.5770.

For orientation staff applicants:
Contact Jessica Ortiz, director of new student programs, at 413.559.6076.

Stay In Touch
With Hampshire College
Snail Mail
Hampshire College
893 West Street
Amherst, MA 01002
Phone
413.549.4600