Students at the ASK conference

The Ingenuity Awards

Hampshire thrives on the passion, energy, dedication, and determination of our students. The Ingenuity Awards honor students who have made a significant contribution to our community.

The Ingenuity Awards for the academic year of 2018-2019 will be announced on April 18, 2019.

What are the student Ingenuity Award criteria?

Any currently enrolled student may be considered a candidate to receive the Ingenuity Award. Students who won the award in 2018 will not be eligible to win again until 2020, allowing other students an opportunity to be recognized. (A list of those honored in 2018 is available on our website at We are seeking nominees who have demonstrated outstanding initiative and/or attained significant accomplishments that have contributed positively to the College. This includes but is not limited to: student group involvement, student governance, individuals who devote time to planning activities that enrich our community, and those who have demonstrated exemplary leadership through academic means and/or community service.

How do I nominate a student for an Ingenuity Award?

The link for ingenuity award nominees will go live in the spring of 2019. You'll need to include the student’s name, email, and preferred pronoun, in addition to your name and contact information. Your recommendation should include in what capacity you know the student and why you believe that student should be considered to receive this award. The more details you can provide, the better chance your nominee has of being chosen. Please note: At the awards banquet, an excerpt from the nomination will be read aloud to provide a glimpse into the student’s accomplishments. In writing your nomination, we encourage you to highlight the student’s accomplishments in the first paragraph to be read aloud, then expand upon their involvement throughout the body of the letter.

Who can nominate a student for an Ingenuity Award?

Hampshire staff, faculty, and students. Please note that students cannot nominate themselves.

When is the deadline for nominations?

No nominations will be considered beyond the deadline, which will be announced in March 2019.

How are recipients selected?

While we appreciate and recognize the efforts of all nominated individuals, our selection committee will choose only the strongest nominees as our 2019 Ingenuity Award recipients.

We look forward to hearing about all the wonderful ways Hampshire students have contributed to our community!

Award recipients, as well as those who nominated them, will be invited to attend the banquet.

Stay In Touch
With Campus Leadership & Activities
Snail Mail
Campus Leadership & Activities
Hampshire College
893 West Street
Amherst, MA 01002