You are here

Faculty Named Endowed Chairs

Hampshire's most precious educational resource is its committed faculty. Support to recorgnize and retain our faculty with Named Endowed Faculty Chairs is a sound investment in sustaining excellence.

We seek to engage a new generation of Hampshire philanthropists to name and endow at least one professorship for each of the five academic schools at a funding level of $1.5 million per chair.

Some examples of these professorships:

Charles Taylor Endowed Chair of Integrated Sciences and Humanities: Established by trustee emeritus Charles H. Taylor to support faculty at Hampshire College to pursue integrated scholarship in the sciences and the humanities. This chair is held by Salman Hameed, assistant professor of integrated science and humanities.

Rosamond Stewardson Taylor Endowed Chair of Religion Comparative Religion: Established in honor of Rosamond Stewardson Taylor to support faculty at Hampshire College to pursue the humane interdisciplinary, non-doctrine scholarship in teaching of religions and history. This chair is held by Alan Hodder, professor of comparative religion.

Marilyn Levin Professorship: Established in honor of Marilyn Levin to support an appointed senior faculty member eligible for a term of three to five years. Includes an annual discretionary fund for use in curriculum and professional development. This chair is held by Aaron Berman, professor of history.

Make a Gift

Custom Ads