Important Dates and Deadlines

Fall foliage on the farm


Wednesday, March 7: Housing Applications Open for Fall 2018. The applications for all identity-based modsintentional housing communities, and exemptions to the residency requirement become available on this date. 

Saturday, March 10-Sunday, March 18: Spring Break. All residences remain open. Dining services will be closed.

Monday, March 19: Application for Summer Research Students Opens. Limited summer housing is available by application only to students working with faculty members on faculty-driven projects for at least 25 hours per week during the summer session (June 3-August 4). The application for this program will open on March 20 and close on May 4. Applications will be reviewed on a rolling basis during this time.

Thursday, April 5: Housing Applications are Due. Applications for intentional housing communities, and exemptions to the residency requirement are due before 4 p.m. on Thursday, April 5. 

Friday, April 6: Field Study, Leave, and Exchange Deadline. Students must inform CASA by this date of their intentions for the following semester (if they will be going on or returning from leave/field-study/exchange). Students who have filed for leave, field-study, or exchange for the fall 2018 semester will not be eligible to participate in the spring room choosing process.

Friday, April 13-Wednesday, April 18: Invitations to Live in ID Mods and IHCs Sent to Accepted Students. Students who have applied and been accepted to live in identity-based mods or intentional housing communities will be notified during this time via their Hampshire email accounts. 

Wednesday, April 18: New Identity Based Mods and Intentional Housing Communities Proposal Submission Deadline. Students wishing to create a new identity-based mod or intentional housing community must submit proposals to the HOO by 4 p.m. on Wednesday, April 18. Proposals for identity based mods will be reviewed by the identity based housing guidance committee, and proposals for intentional housing communities will be reviewed by residence life staff. Groups will be notified by noon on Friday, April 20 if they have been approved or denied. A meeting may be required for approval.

Friday, April 20: Deadline for Students Returning from Field Study, Leave, or Exchange to Submit a Housing Preference Form in time to participate in the housing lottery. The form may also be submitted at any time after April 20; students will be placed by the HOO according to availability.

Wednesday, April 25: Housing Lottery Begins. The annual spring room-choosing process will begin on April 25 with 4-person mods. Registrations packets are due by 1 p.m. daily. Check Hampshire email for updates and information, and see our housing lottery page for more details.

Thursday, May 3: Individual room sign-up begins at 3 p.m. Students who have not been otherwise housed by the lottery may sign up for any available rooms in the dorms, mods that have not been won in the lottery, or leftover in RA mods.

Friday, May 4: Last Day of Classes.

Friday, May 4: Application for Summer Research Students Closes. No late applications can be accepted. More information can be found here.

Friday, May 18: Last Day to Sign Up for Rooms for Fall 2018. Any currently enrolled students who are planning to return for the fall 2018 semester who have not signed up for a room by this date will be placed at the discretion of the HOO. Students who have won a mod but not signed up for a room in the mod will be assigned to any available room in the mod; students who have not participated in the room choosing process may be placed anywhere on campus, dependent on administrative need, without the benefit of their input.

Saturday, May 19: Commencement.

Sunday, May 20: All Residences Close at 10 a.m. All students must vacate campus before 10 a.m. on Sunday, May 20. Keys must be returned to the HOO by 10 a.m. or a late key return charge of $50 will be assessed. A cumulative late stay charge of $50 will be assessed per every 30 minutes a student remains on campus after 10 a.m.

Sunday, June 3-Saturday, August 4: Summer Housing Session. Limited housing will be available by application only to currently enrolled students who are who are working with Hampshire College faculty or are working on campus for at least 25 hours per week during the summer housing session. Applications will be reviewed on a rolling basis between March 20 and May 4.

Sunday, July 15: Housing Preference Form for New Students due. Incoming students should submit the new student housing preference on TheHub before July 15.

Monday, July 23: Early Arrival Application opens. See the early arrival page for more information.

Wednesday, August 15: Housing Assignments for New Students Available on the Hub. New students can view their housing assignments for fall 2018 on TheHub beginning Wednesday, August 15.

Thursday, August 23: Early Arrival Application closes.

Thursday, August 30: New Students Arrive.

Monday, September 3: All Residences Open for Continuing Students. Continuing students may return to campus beginning Monday, September 3, Labor Day. NOTE: Opening day for continuing students is always on Labor Day!

Saturday, October 6 - Tuesday, October 9: October Break. All residences remain open.

Wednesday, November 21 - Sunday, November 25: Thanksgiving Break. All residences remain open. Dining services will be closed.

Thursday, December 13: Last Day of Classes

Saturday, December 14-Tuesday, December 18: Advising/Progress Review Period.

Tuesday, December 18: Residences Close at 9 p.m. All residences will be closed for the duration of Winter break. The only students who may remain on campus after December 18 are those with prior approval from the HOO via the late stay application. Additionally, the housing operations office maintains a list of community members who can offer a space in their home (as a house-sitting gig, sublet, or visit) during the winter break. Please contact to request more information, add a listing, or gain access to the list.


Wednesday, January 2 at Noon-Saturday, January 19: January Residency Period. Eligible students may reside on campus during the January residency period by application only.

Friday, January 18: New Students Arrive. All new and transfer incoming students should arrive on January 18. Find out more information on the New Student Programs page.

Sunday, January 20: Continuing Students Arrive for Spring Semester. 

​Saturday, March 9-Sunday, March 17: Spring Break. All residences remain open. Dining services will be closed.

Thursday, May 2: Last day of Hampshire College classes 

Saturday, May 18: Commencement

Sunday, May 29: Residences Close at 10 a.m. All residents must have fully vacated their rooms, halls, and mods as well as returned keys to the housing operations office by this time. Students who fail to return keys by 10 a.m. will be assessed a $50 late key return fee. A cumulative late stay charge of $50 will be assessed per every 30 minutes a student remains in residence after 10 a.m. 


Stay In Touch
With Housing
Snail Mail
Housing Operations Office
Hampshire College
893 West Street
Amherst, MA 01002